Video

Get to know: Damar Jackson

Today we bring you a dope Q&A with up and coming artist Damar Jackson.

unnamed.jpg

HHR talked with Damar about where he grew up, his love for music, if he writes his own songs & more.

Check out the full Q&A below and be sure to keep your eyes and ears open for Damar Jackson.

Explain who you are for those who don’t know

Musician, artist, creator, singer, and producer that makes art for the world.

What was it like for you growing up in Louisiana?

Different from any place in the world. Dealt with a lot so we know how to work through anything.

Did you always have a love for singing and making music?

Yea, I always entertaining as a kid so that’s all I know.

How would you describe your style?

Raw with big harmonies and real life content.

Who are some of your inspirations and influences?

A lot of people, MJ, Kirk Franklin, Ryan Leslie, Jodeci, Dark Child, Tank and I can keep going man. All the greats

What is your process like when creating music?

I work with my partner Big Fruit with every song. One of us starts off the beat and continue to create. We load it up it pro tools and start laying ideas and melodies. Turn into to lyrics and start doing what I call “surgery”.

Do you write your own songs?

Yes, I write my own songs.

How do you feel about the current state of R&B music?

It’s getting better. More great music is being made and put on platforms. More R&B artist are coming out so its all pushing the culture forward. Hopefully I enhance that movement.

Whats next for you?

My EP, more visuals, more shows and just trying to be great.

Anything else?

Go get my single Crazy prod. by Big Fruit. Follow me on twitter @damarjackson and IG @damarjackson

-HipHopsRevival 

Standard